First Post

Hello and welcome. This is my first actual post to this blog. I opened the thing on April 17, and here it is July 3 before I even make the first post. Poetic really. It sets the tone well.

This is, or will be, a blog about the little projects that I so often start, and so seldom finish. Hobbies that I pick up out of curiosity, and put down when interest wanes. Hopefully this blog won’t also end up on the pile, as much as I like irony.

My interests have been varied over the years. I tend to come back and revisit them once in a while. The problem is my lack of focus and discipline. I can easily put one task down to pick up another (or none at all), fully intending to get back and finish later. There are little piles of projects all over my home. And those little piles will sit for months at a time. Cleaning up a pile changes the state of the project. It would then be in the put away state. Shelved if you will. Once the project is put away, especially after a time, it can be likened to a sealed wound. You don’t unseal a wound. So I often leave projects out, thinking that the unkempt look will act as a motivator. But, over time the unkempt look becomes easier to overlook. Easier to forgive. In my memory the project is fresh. In my mind the mess is only temporary because the intent is to finish. Nothing marks how much time has passed, though.

This isn’t to say that I don’t finish any projects. I do finish some, and I will write about them here. Eventually. You’ll see.

About thelackey3326

Professional Software Engineer. Amateur tinkerer. View all posts by thelackey3326

You must be logged in to post a comment.

